The project that almost wasn’t.

We’ve done a few Great Lessons now, and the boys have given some pretty impressive presentations (considering that they’re quite little πŸ˜‰ ). Perhaps I began to rest on my laurels a little but. Perhaps I told too many people how pleased I was with how well this style of learning was going. Perhaps it had nothing to do with me at all.
Eldest got fed up working on his project this time. He just about managed a bit of research. He definitely enjoyed a trip to Grimes Graves (a Neolithic flint mine) and reading a Horrible Histories book on the ‘Savage Stone Age’. For three weeks, he scoured the floor for flint on every walk we took. What he didn’t do was prepare a project to present. When the appointed evening came, he gave us a – very – brief and not very accurate talk and showed us a drawing of a mammoth.
image
(This isn’t it.)

I was a bit disappointed. I found myself wondering what I’d done wrong. Was it the topic? Was it the books? Was I too enthusiastic about his work? Was I too restrictive with his flint-knapping experiments?
Eventually I decided that it doesn’t really matter. We all have projects that don’t quite go to plan. We’ll just see how the next one goes.

The same night, however, Middly gave his talk on the heart. He had a model made from a kit:
image

He talked about the structure of the heart and what it does.
He had a labeled diagram:
image

And he had the longest presentation he’s done so far! I was impressed by what he’d learned and by how enthusiastically he answered our questions about hearts.

At the end of the day, these projects were never really about the talks. The real aim is the research and the enthusiasm. That, at least is still going strong!

2 thoughts on “The project that almost wasn’t.

  1. I can’t tell you how encouraging it is to read a blog where perhaps a home ed project doesn’t quite go as planned! If I took t’internet literally it would appear that every other family in the world glides effortlessly from one perfect day to another! So, thank you for this πŸ™‚ And I’m sure eldest has learned loads about the Stone Age, presentation or no!

    • Well, we aim to please!
      I am pretty sure that we all have failures from time to time. Happy to share some of mine if it cheers you up! And, don’t worry, I have had plenty of other failures that I haven’t shared!

Leave a Reply

